Anyone know what this is?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Shane Kuester

May 10, 2013
Lindale, TX
Hello everyone,

I'm totally new to trying to heat with wood, but I've been thinking about how I'd like to do it for a while. Then, last week, I was helping someone move into a new house. The new house has an insert that I think would fit my fireplace and they don't want to use it. They said to make them an offer, and I'm pretty sure they would sell it cheap.

My problem is I took a few pictures and I still can't figure out what type of stove it is, so I don't know what its worth, and I don't know if it would work in my situation.

Can any of you identify what this thing is from the pictures I took? Also, do you have any idea if I'd have any problem installing it in the fireplace of my 1500 square foot double wide trailer? I'd love it if it would work for me, but I'm stumped.

Thanks in advance,

-Shane

insert.jpg nameplate.jpg

Welcome, Shane! :)
I wouldn't bother. I would get a modern (post-1990) EPA-certified stove. It will burn a lot less wood for the same amount of heat, burn cleaner on low output, and have glass on the front so you can see the fire. Tell the guy to put that turkey on craigslist for $650 like the rest of the antique stoves you see on there. ==c

Welcome to the forum Shane.