1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Anyone notice apostrophy or quotation mark morphing into something else?

Post in 'New Forum Hints and your Questions & Suggestions!' started by coaly, Apr 6, 2012.

  1. coaly

    coaly Fisher Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,489
    Loc:
    NE PA
    When viewing threads, here's what some apostrophies look like in the word we've, as we have. we’ve

    The apostrophy in I'm looks like this I�m

    Post number 24 on this thread is a good example;
    http://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/taco-013-pump-leak-again.50582/#post-805819

    The first post of the Everything Fisher thread was like that, and I fixed them all. It was displayed like that on other computers in the house, so it isn't just mine. ??

    If I do a search by copy and pasting � , I get lots of threads finding it.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,289
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    Just to be clear- exactly what character should go in the place of that?
    Or maybe there is more than one instance - some a slash / and some an ' and some a " sign?
  3. coaly

    coaly Fisher Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,489
    Loc:
    NE PA
    The " and ' key next to Enter is displayed like that only in some posts.
    I'm using IE 8 on both PC's.
    Don't know if it appears that way to others, or it's just me.
  4. coaly

    coaly Fisher Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,489
    Loc:
    NE PA
  5. Admin

    Admin Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    I can fix this with some simple queries, but I need to confirm the string replacements.

    So both of these strings should be single quotes?

    ’ = '
    � = '

    It's unusual for one character to have multiple replacements like this. Are you sure you got this right?

    What about double quotes?

    Encoding errors like this happen sometimes with imports. Single and double quotes are typical, as are the > and < characters.
  6. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,289
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    I'm not sure what all the characters are.
    Maybe I'll look at the old board threads to confirm so they are mapped out correctly...
  7. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,289
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    OK, so that title is messed up in the old forum! We won't worry about that one.
    Let me check some of the others ones....

    So:
    Code:
    348� 1� Pex 348’
    38� 1� Black Pipe 38’
    13� 1-1/2� Black Pipe 13’
    8 1-1/2� BP elbows x 4.03 32.24
    6 1-1/2� BP tees x 2.68 16.08
    6 1-1/2� ball valves x 6.50 39
    2 1� Shark Bite elbows x 2.62 5.24
    8 1� BP elbows x 2.62 20.96
    7 1� BP tees x 1.75 12.25
    2 1� Ball Valves x 1.80 3.6
    1 1-1/2� Danfoss loading valve 16.4
    In this forum WAS:
    Code:
    QTY        ITEM DESCRIPTION
     
    348’          1” Pex                348'
    38’        1” Black Pipe            38'
    13’        1-1/2” Black Pipe            13'   
    8        1-1/2” BP elbows x 4.03        32.24
    6        1-1/2” BP tees x 2.68            16.08
    6        1-1/2” ball valves x 6.50        39
    2        1” Shark Bite elbows x 2.62        5.24
    8        1” BP elbows x 2.62            20.96
    7        1” BP tees x 1.75            12.25
    2        1” Ball Valves x 1.80            3.6   
    1        1-1/2” Danfoss loading valve        16.4
    In the old one......so maybe � is simply " , eh?

    That would probably be the biggest replace.....
  8. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,289
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    Hmmm...I see what you mean......the ’ is a single quote (foot in this case) while the � is BOTH " and '

    strange....
  9. coaly

    coaly Fisher Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,489
    Loc:
    NE PA
    And it only happens occasionally ! It can be found in only a few instances in a post, or only once in an entire post where the " or ' displays correctly everywhere else.
    When you search � you get about 50 hits. hmmm

    So here's another oddity ;
    日本語をèªã‚ã‚‹ã®ï¼Ÿã‚„ã£ã±ã‚Šé•·ã日本ã«ä½ã‚“ã§ã„ãŸã ã‚ã†ã。é¢ç™½ã„経験ãŒã„ã£ã±§ã—ょã†ã€‚ã©ã‚“ã ã‘勉強ã—ã¦ãŸã®ï¼Ÿ

    That string appears in post # 11 here;
    http://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/regency-f2400-ashdrawer.64239/#post-802641

    His other posts (from Japan?) are normal.
  10. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,289
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    Yeah, that was probably Japanese.
    I think we just need to do the main one...or two. that is, the only you mention above...and maybe the other one. Then we can just clean up small ones here and there by hand when we run into them. But there are definitely too many �
  11. coaly

    coaly Fisher Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,489
    Loc:
    NE PA
    I just noticed something else that may help figure it out.

    In this thread; http://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/...andpa-bear-more-effiecient.15589/#post-819035

    Post #7 displays correctly, but when quoted in Post #13 the � is baaack.

    Notice this quoted sentence; The baffle is made out of �� steel plate WAS The baffle plate is made out of 1/4" steel plate.
    I think that's alien for a half of a half. ??
  12. Admin

    Admin Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Hmm, it seems like the replacements aren't so clear-cut. And if there are only 50 such posts it may be better to just manually clean them up. Otherwise I can run the replacement queries but then you will still have to check each post and make corrections since there is overlap in the replacements.

    Well, 1/2 of 1/2 is 1/4. ::-)
  13. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,289
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    I cleaned up that very long post that was first noted - it may not be perfect, but that's the nature of forums.....

    Yeah, I'd say we clean the big ones when we run into them "by hand" because a replace on the whole DB could cause problems........

Share This Page