Anyone use the kobalt 80v chainsaw

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sepulvd

Dec 27, 2014
Oak harbor, wa
I am deciding to buy myself a saw and thinking about the kobalt or the greenworks 80v. Its pretty much the same saw. Has anyone use either of this two

I am deciding to buy myself a saw and thinking about the kobalt or the greenworks 80v. Its pretty much the same saw. Has anyone use either of this two

I've no experience with battery saws. However I watched a video on the greenworks 80v saw and was impressed by what I saw. First of 80v and a brushless motor ! That's a lot of power for an electric set up. The saw looked well constructed even sporting an all metal handle ( where most all saws in that price range have plastic handles)

My only concern would be the run time. I think they got 30 minutes and that will depend on the wood your cutting. And it only comes with one battery so I think if you buy it you may want an extra battery (or 2 ) on hand.

I suppose for occasional use if your in the city and have noise restrictions a battery saw may make sense, but only if your cutting needs are small. That said they say that saw is equal to 45cc and I believe it based on the video. For a battery saw the video was impressive. Is there a specific reason your not wanting a gas saw ? Also I would want to know the life expectancy of the battery. If your replacing batteries every year that's gonna get expensive.