1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Anyone used this stove pipe thermometer/alarm yet?

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Spinny, Dec 26, 2012.

  1. Treacherous

    Treacherous Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    887
    Loc:
    WA state
    I went ahead and ordered one.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. albertj03

    albertj03 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    535
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    This looks like it would work great in combination with my wireless web cam that I use to monitor my stove in the basement.

    The wireless web cam works great and let's me monitor the wood stove from my iPhone or my computer from anywhere in the house. Perfect for when you are making dinner or helping kids with home work but need to keep an eye on the stove during startup. The problem is that I have to keep the lighst on in the basement so I can see the needle on the stove pipe thermometer and I had to wrap the needle in tin foil so I could see it. This would allow me to see an accurate temp without having to keep the light on.
  3. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    46,075
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    I used to use the iMac glossy screen to do this. Acted like a mirror from which I could keep track of the stove. But the iMac was replaced by an new MacBookPro in a new location. I may need to put up a mirror in the iMac's place.
  4. Treacherous

    Treacherous Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    887
    Loc:
    WA state
    If you don't need the remote alarm you can go with this cheaper version that starts at $55 depending on the probe type and length.

    http://www.auberins.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=17&products_id=281

    Both units do have built in alarms. You would hear it fine in the same room but it might not be noticeable from other parts of your house.

    I purchased and received the one first mentioned in this thread.
  5. Dr. Richards

    Dr. Richards New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Loc:
    Central ME
    I just received my auberins thermometer today with 4" 1/8" probe. My question is: how heigh above my stove top should I install it into the stovepipe? I was thinking 18".
  6. northernontario

    northernontario Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Loc:
    Ontario
    I installed mine at 18" above stove.
  7. scooby074

    scooby074 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    This is a great little all in one device by the looks of it. I plan on building my own, but this is a good looking unit for somebody wanting one stop shopping with little wiring.

    For me, I want one with alarm because there has been times the stove damper has been left fully open for too long and the stovepipe has gotten quite hot.
  8. Dr. Richards

    Dr. Richards New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Loc:
    Central ME
    What should I set the high temp alarm at? i.e. at what temp should I close the damper? It defaults at 900 for a high alarm. I was thinking around 1000??
  9. northernontario

    northernontario Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Loc:
    Ontario
    Depends a lot on how quickly the flue temps rise up. I can have flue temps up to 1100F and the stove is still fairly "cool" (if starting from a cool/cold stove), and throttling back too much will knock the fire down. It'll depend on your stove and how it reacts. My smaller stove I ran the alarm at 1200F, my new larger stove I set the alarm for 1100F. Keep in mind these are flue gas temps... not pipe surface temps.
  10. Dr. Richards

    Dr. Richards New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Loc:
    Central ME
    I contacted Englander today and asked them based on my stove model (30-NC) and my temp probe at 18" above collar, what do they recommend for operating flue temps. They replied between 400 and 700, anything above 700 would be getting too warm. They also said it is not uncommon for temp to drop below 400 on low burns. Based on these numbers I have been burning way too hot and wasting wood. I found out my Rutland was about 700 degrees off (threw that away). I am going to need to be closing my damper much more as this stove likes to go up to 1100 fast. Wished I had known this sooner as I have already burned over 2 cord.
  11. Treacherous

    Treacherous Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    887
    Loc:
    WA state
    Actually it has audible high and low alarms.

  12. northernontario

    northernontario Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Loc:
    Ontario
    I would question the response of 400-700f for flue temps. I'm measuring about 800F and climbing before secondaries ignite. Need to get the wood up to temp and the secondary air up to temp before that combustion will occur... Then you can start throttling down. Eventually you will cruise from 400-700... but not on startup.
  13. Treacherous

    Treacherous Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    887
    Loc:
    WA state
    Got a real chance to use this new probe this weekend. I like it. I'll keep the Rutland probe around for power outages but seems to work well. Quick response to changes in temp as well.
  14. Treacherous

    Treacherous Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    887
    Loc:
    WA state
    I've had a digital monitor for stove surface temps for a while now. I wish I had gotten one sooner for the flue. It's really nice to see in almost real time the changes that take place with primary air adjustments. It really shows the impact of an extremely minute air adjustment.
  15. Dr. Richards

    Dr. Richards New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Loc:
    Central ME
    Mine started throwing error codes already (only had for 2 days). Contacted auberins and they've already got another one on the way. I think they are pretty delicate but very cool. Oh, and northernontario, I agree. I throttle mine back at 900 (on a reload) and higher on a new fire.
  16. Treacherous

    Treacherous Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    887
    Loc:
    WA state
    I'll have to keep an eye on mine. I gave it a good 3 day run.

  17. northernontario

    northernontario Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Loc:
    Ontario
    Strange that it's throwing codes. On my home-built alarm (using an Auberins digital PID controller and alarm/flasher), I've been running it almost constantly for I think two years now. No issues.
  18. mellow

    mellow Resident Stove Connoisseur

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,065
    Loc:
    Salisbury, MD
  19. HaTaX

    HaTaX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    82
    Loc:
    Minnesota
    That's a pretty slick little device, there's only one thing I'd like that's a little different, the ability to monitor or switch between two temperature probes. It would be great to place the eyelet one for monitoring the stove top temps, and then the probe to monitor flue temps, one place to go for all your temps!

    Then of course the nerd in me asks why we can't find one of these that will hook to wifi and send an email out. :D
  20. mellow

    mellow Resident Stove Connoisseur

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,065
    Loc:
    Salisbury, MD
    http://www.omega.com/ppt/pptsc.asp?ref=ISD-TC&Nav=dasc01

    If you have a spare $500 sitting around you can have that, someone needs to do a kickstarter for something like this in the $100 range.
  21. Treacherous

    Treacherous Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    887
    Loc:
    WA state
    I use this other Auberins PID to monitor the stove top temps.

    http://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/digital-led-temp-readout-and-alarm-installed.76244/


  22. turbocruiser

    turbocruiser Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    320
    Loc:
    Rocky Mountains Majesty
    Yes this is exactly the model that I've been drooling and drooling about but somehow I suspect after the novelty of all the graphing and testing and tracking wore off I'd go back to basically just using it as a high/low alarm which the Omega DP7000 does for a fraction of the cost. Still this would be so super sweet and would probably allow me to use the stove while I was at work but $500 is absolutely insane. The problem with the DP7000 though is that it is only going to go up to 999F and while that would probably work very well for stovetop surface temps I don't think it would work well for a flue install? Anyway if money were no object I'd opt for this in a split second.
  23. Lance

    Lance Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Loc:
    Western Wisconsin
    Turbocruiser, could you take a picture of your setup of the Omega DP7000. Please explain where and how you set that up.
  24. Treacherous

    Treacherous Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    887
    Loc:
    WA state
    You could always pick up one of the $80 Foscam cameras and point it at one of the less expensive probe options. They have a mobile interface that works well on IOS and Android.

    [​IMG]

  25. turbocruiser

    turbocruiser Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    320
    Loc:
    Rocky Mountains Majesty
    I'm sorry for any confusion I caused but what I was trying to write was that I'm trying to decide on exactly which way to go for a temperature alarm for the stove. Right now all I'm actually using is a regular stove top surface thermometer and a Laser IR thermometer to tell the temps.

    What I've wanted all along was a temperature alarm with at least a high temp alarm and preferably one with high temp and low temp alarms. Then I started thinking that it would be cool to have something setup to either email me or text me a message that would tell me my alarm went over whatever setpoint I setup even if I was away for awhile with stove still on. That led to the iSD-TC that Omega sells which seriously has some amazing functionality to it.

    So I've scrubbed all around on several sites to find the best way to work this and although I keep drooling and drooling over all the functionality the iSD-TC has, I keep going back to the DP7000 (which is like 80-something dollars) combined a length of K type thermocouple which would be surface mounted on top of the firebox. That would give me my alarm functionality at least as long as I was within earshot or eyeshot of the unit itself.

    Then I start thinking that it would be cool to measure the stove top as well as the stove pipe and then that would require two of the DP7000s and even then they top out at 999F if I remember right so that probably isn't the ideal range for an alarm for the stove pipe and then we're talking about $200 bucks instead of $100 bucks and I simply start shaking my head at how fast my imagination costs money!

    So as you can tell I'm sort of stuck between too little / enough / too much in terms of the options and the prices but I don't currently have anything other than the two ways to measure temps and no alarm.

Share This Page