Apple wood - What's up with this

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

nhchad

Dec 3, 2007
Southern NH
Newbie here with a 2 week old Jotul F400.

Picked up some applewood from the local orchard. Stuff burns great but results in a lot of charcoal like ashes. Doesn't hiss or pop so not sure if it's not fully dry or if this is just how it burns. I burned it in my fireplace and the same result again didn't notice any hissing or popping.

Update on the stove : Absolutely love it and it makes such a huge difference over the fireplace. Can easily keep the downstairs at a toasty 72 degrees with stove running right around 500 degrees. Slowly learning how to get longer burn times some of the large applewood chunks burned for almost 3 1/2 hours which seems like I'm going in the right direction.

Question on the "2nd burn"... the holes in the top of the stove; do the flames actually come out of those holes during secondary burn or does it look like flames with holes in the center of it located over the holes? Sorry if that doesn't make sense; but I can get lots of flames on the top with what appears no flames coming out of the actual holes?

nhchad said:
Newbie here with a 2 week old Jotul F400.

Picked up some applewood from the local orchard. Stuff burns great but results in a lot of charcoal like ashes. Doesn't hiss or pop so not sure if it's not fully dry or if this is just how it burns. I burned it in my fireplace and the same result again didn't notice any hissing or popping.