Are these both maple (and other questions)?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Took the better part of 9 months, but finally finished hand splitting seven-ish cords for winter ‘23 and beyond.
CBD3ABF2-F397-4D77-A0B2-1D9594D81ED9.jpegD11D892D-2EAB-42B6-86F3-7624158FC218.jpeg

The wood is from a logger friend in south western MA. Mostly birch, oak and maple, probably some others mixed in as well, but i’m not a pro at identifying by bark or interior alone by any means. there were a lot of log lengths of the ones pictured below. I’m assuming they’re both kinds of maple, but 🤷. A lot of it, especially the stuff with a black-ish core (especially the bigger the piece) smelled to me faintly of olives

Additional question, a bunch of the birch emitted a vey sharp fragrance like birch beer. i’m assuming that was sweet birch (a.k.a. black or cherry). Sorry no pictures of that, it was mostly on top and got to it what feels like ages ago.

wood 1.

77E20A99-5000-4BFB-A294-CB1986EB21C2.jpeg3F9464B8-33F0-4CBB-80F3-A6A5EDCFBB01.jpeg5B86B29B-0086-40FD-9EFD-F607DDC8E730.jpeg

wood 2.
834333B8-2640-4F88-ABDD-980826639F46.jpegE05D4EB9-F989-42CC-BECD-6D0A79AB3D3D.jpegA86F9027-ECB8-4E27-92D1-573BD9FE07BA.jpeg

Does look like a maple. Sweet smeller could be black birch. Top shelf firewood.

Reactions: Echo Parking Lot
are there good species to split thinner as opposed to thicker? i recall another thread where someone recommended loading with a good mix of small splits and larger ones.