As a newbie, I have a question. Please help!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

thsu01

Jun 20, 2014
lenox, MA
My house is 3600 sf in western Mass. I just survived our first winter here with only a newly installed wood pellet stove. I want to install the following heating system to heat the entire house. Please tell me if it is proper or not.

1. Wood Gun E180 with oil backup.
2. 2000 gallons (4X500 gallons by Ahona), pressurized, in my garage, not basement.

I have baseboard fin-type heating through out the house (7 zones). Plan on burning wood fo rthe next winter. What else do I need? What have I missed? Do I need to go with other system? Massachusetts calls for ASME certified system.

Than you for your input.

What is your fuel supply situation like - both pellets and wood?

If you don't have wood on hand now that has been split & stacked since last year, you might not be ready for this coming winter - dry wood is essential. Have you considered a pellet boiler?

Massachusetts calls for ASME certified system

Is that really system, or boiler? I thought there were a lot of people on here from MA who don't have a ASME system, or at least I don't remember reading of this before. Hopefully you will get more feedback from MA guys on this part.

I assume you're removing the oil boiler? Since you mention oil backup on the WG? Could storage go there? Another plus for a pellet boiler - no storage needed.

All kinds of things to consider...