1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Ash / Coal rake

Post in 'The Gear' started by doug60, Nov 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. doug60

    doug60 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    149
    Loc:
    north jersey
    Where is a good on-line place to buy a rake?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. savageactor7

    savageactor7 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,700
    Loc:
    CNY
    Doug save your money, a bent poker will do it all...unless your retired.
  3. woodheat

    woodheat New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Loc:
    Ct.
    try searching for ash hoe at northlineexpress.com, they sell everything to do with stoves and fireplaces. That is where I bought all my chimney cleaning rods and brushes.
  4. LLigetfa

    LLigetfa Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,343
    Loc:
    NW Ontario
    I was thinking about taking the head off the brush since it is all melted anyway and make my own rake to put on the handle. Right now I use the poker and the corner of the shovel but they don't work that well.

    Why would they make the brush out of nylon anyway?
  5. snowtime

    snowtime Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    523
    Loc:
    northern BC
    Easy enough to make one. I took a 3' ready rod that I had and bent the end into a handle. I then got a 2" by 5" steel brace [any flat piece of steel will do ] drilled it in the center down 1/3 from top. I then inserted ready rod and put bolts on both sides. It works great. I covered the handle so I do not feel the threads.
  6. LLigetfa

    LLigetfa Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,343
    Loc:
    NW Ontario
    I would want teeth on it like a rake to separate the coals from the ashes.

    My kitchen spatula would melt and the handle being so short would burn my knuckles.
  7. wellbuilt home

    wellbuilt home Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    532
    Loc:
    NY
    HI doug I was thinking the same thing . The inside of the EQ is kind of large to clean with a poker. I was going to weld one up my self in the next few weeks . I think you could have one made at a metal shop .
  8. Brian VT

    Brian VT Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    807
    Loc:
    Southern VT
    I got one of these at a local hardware store. It's the only tool I use (I have an ash pan).
    When closed, the end of the tongs form a loop. I just drag my coals around with that. It's handy for it's intended purpose too.

    http://www.nothingbuthardware.com/410816.html
  9. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27,352
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    I had an old cheapo fireplace set laying around that I never used the base or the brush so I yanked the head off of the brush, attached the piece that holds the tools on the stand and made a ash rake that works beautifully.

    Attached Files:

  10. LLigetfa

    LLigetfa Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,343
    Loc:
    NW Ontario
    Eh BB, smart idea. Too bad I threw my old set away.
  11. Burn-1

    Burn-1 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    446
    Loc:
    Lakes Region, NH
    I grabbed an extra ash shovel I had lying around, and cut ~1/2" slits about 4" up the shovel. Then I made a crude brake from two 2x4s, bent 90 degrees and put a self tapping sheet metal screw in each corner. It's fine for the Vista but you might get warm hands with a larger stove.

    Attached Files:

    • ash.jpg
      ash.jpg
      File size:
      17 KB
      Views:
      278
  12. Burd

    Burd Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    Loc:
    Bell bell Pa.
    burn-1 I was going to do the same thing. But im going to take the shovel and pound it out with a mallet so that the first two inches were flat and if its wide enough I was going to cut some teeth mabe every 1/2inch or so. But wright now I only have one shovel so Ill wait till santa brings me a new set and pound out the old one
    BB that thing looks like it could glow for hours. Do you have any cattle you could brand with that :lol:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page