Ashley Woodstove Help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

barmstrong2

Feeling the Heat
Nov 2, 2007
Maine
Hi all. I just found this site looking for info about a woodstove I have that is getting the best of me. Cool site. I've put it in the favorites list and will check in often. I'm a gas contractor in Maine. Have an Ashley woodstove that I inherited with the house and it's not getting sufficient combustion air. I've torn the thing down as far as I can, cleaned it, vacuumed it, blown it out with compressed air... nothing. I can get a fire going with the door open a crack, but, close the door and it dies. Obviously getting no air. It's a model NCA1. Small, glass front, air tight. It has an air damper at the bottom, but, the combustion air travels around the firebox and enters the firebox from top front. Can anyone guide me as to just what I need to do to this thing to open the combustion air? Thanks!

Don't know that it's worth putting a lot into it, as an Ashley was good in it's day, but modern stoves will do you a lot better - more heat from a load of wood, less pollution, etc... However it sounds to me like you need to do a more thorough job of making sure that the combustion air path from the inlet on the front of the stove to the entrance of the firebox is clean and open...

Also, how long are you letting the fire build up and heat with the front door open before closing it? It seems possible to me that you need to get a good draft going, and heat up the stove before it will be able to really pull the air around the firebox properly.

Gooserider