At what outside temperture do you fire up your stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

citizanken

Oct 19, 2006
Smithsburg, Maryland
The weather here in Maryland has been unseasonably warm for this time of year. I just had a new woodstove installed, and like a kid at christmas, have been burning when outside temps were in the mid 50's for highs, and low 40's for lows. I was wondering if others wait until the real winter comes, or like me, do most of you like to burn just to keep the heater from kicking on? I am rather new to this and dont want my neighbors thinking I am a lunatic any more than they already do.

We have been running since October, because there ain't no other heater.

Good question -
We just moved from Maryland to NH. Are you in Western MD?
I'm ready for the stove to be on when the temp is in the 40s during the day. Having said that, that's what it is this week and I've weenied out and been using the (gasp) furnace because I'm busy painting and just don't want to do the wood stove shuffle at the same time. I'll bet lots of other ppl fire theirs up sooner than the mid 40s though.

I've been burning since the end of September. If we are cold, we will start a fire to warm up. Our furnace ran once this year to test it and thats it.

citizanken said:
KarynAnne said:
Are you in Western MD?

Yes, but not like Oakland or anything. Just outside of Hagerstown in Washington County.

We were right outside of Chestertown on the Chesapeake Bay. We don't miss MD much. Just the Canada Geese this time of year.