1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Avalon 900 problem with auto start..... Dead?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by narles, Nov 12, 2011.

  1. narles

    narles New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    Oregon
    Hello,

    This stove is a 1993 stove. It has a toggle switch for Power On and then a toggle switch for start. My stove was running fine.... I turned it off in the afternoon and later that night it doesn't do anything when turned on and hitting the start switch.

    Usually, a light would come on once the start switch is activated and it would start the auger and the starting element. I did a thorough cleaning and verified that the stove has power. Any suggestions for what to look at next. I have a meter and am comfortable with working with electrical.

    I've opened up the side and back panel, but haven't looked at anything else yet. Hoping some of you Pro's can offer some suggestions that I might look into before bringing in a repair service.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Blown fuse on control board?

    EDIT: There may be another fuse located on the back of the stove near where the power cord goes into the stove.
  3. narles

    narles New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    Oregon
    Forgot to mention that I had checked the fuse. The fuse is good.
  4. imacman

    imacman Guest

    I just updated my post....there may be another fuse on back panel of stove.....near where the power cord enters the stove.
  5. narles

    narles New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    Oregon
    The only fuse I see is the one on what I would assume is the control box. It is connected to the incoming power and has multi connectors on it.
  6. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,059
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Is there power on the controller side of the on/off switch?
  7. narles

    narles New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    Oregon
    I have power at the blue/Yellow wire in the switch. When switched I get power at Brown/white. I get nothing on the Red/white and Green wire in the On/off switch in either position.

    the wires in the switch are arranged as follows.


    OFF
    Bl/Y & G
    Br/W & R/W
    ON
  8. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,059
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
  9. narles

    narles New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    Oregon
    The blower doesn't start, but I can hear a faint click in the control box.



    BTW Thanks for the guide.
  10. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,059
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    With the stove off and unplugged I'd remove and re seat those two MOLEX connectors and try plugging it back in and retry the power/start sequence.
  11. narles

    narles New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    Oregon
    No go. No indicator light, exhaust blower, just the click in the control box.
  12. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,059
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Well I have no idea how things are setup in the control box and I haven't gone through all of that manual.

    There is a fuse in a fuse holder on that box is that the fuse you checked ?

    If so how did you check it?
  13. narles

    narles New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    Oregon
    Initially it was a visual check on the fuse. It checks out on the ohm meter. It looks like the next step in the manual is to replace the control box and/or start box. The manual mentions an internal fuse in the control box. I'll open up the control box and see what I can find. Should I jump power to the blower?
  14. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,059
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Do not jump power to the blower.

    I think those fuses in the control box are spares.

Share This Page