Axe mavens--do you try to "deadeye" your whacks in the cracks, if you need them?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

OldLumberKid

Feeling the Heat
Like most, I guess, I've enjoy some stubborn rounds every now and then, that take a whack or few to split.

So, axe folk — if it doesn't split first time, do you try to "deadeye" the axe blade right into the crack that was, hopefully created by the first whack? (Assuming, of course, you burly tree splittin' types even need a second whack or third or fourth, fifth etc. etc.)

I'm new to this, so I decided to give aim a bit more concentration — but not too hard — and the results were encouraging. Again kinda like playing golf where you have to get it on a dime, but with this, it's even a finer target you're aiming for.

Also, and right handed folk ever notice a tendency to be an inch to the right (if you're not really paying enough attention to the aim) or the reverse if you're a lefty?

Below is part of a sequence of a few strikes.

The first created the crack;
The second and maybe another, not shown, created some other marks
The third went right down the first, and split the length.

FirstCrack.jpg

And then two strikes later ...

SplittheCrack.jpg

Something that size I would try and split in one swing.