Baby bear or Intrepid

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

nellieisadog

Jan 28, 2014
Kennett Square
Not sure which forum this question should be in...
I have been using a fisher baby bear for a couple of years now and have been pleased over all. I just acquired a Vermont castings intrepid 1. I am just curious if anyone has an opinion on which they would prefer to use and why?
Thanks for any input.

I'd try the new one and report back since you know how the Baby burns. Both have advantages and disadvantages. Depends on how you use it and what you need.

I can't comment on the VC without seeing it. Some of us just prefer steel plate over cast any day. Simpler to fix and less maintenance. Does it use any door gaskets to need replacing or prevent use ? Glass to break and shut you down? A major factor if used as the only heat source so you need a plate, sheet metal or replacement glass on hand. Does it take an 18 inch log? Do you mind cutting shorter if necessary? Bolt together pieces that need stove cement if it leaks from time to time ? Is looks important seeing the fire in a living room, or is it used more as a utility stove unseen?