Banning incandescent bulbs canada

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Swedishchef

Minister of Fire
Jan 17, 2010
Inuvik, Northwest Territories
I knew this was coming so I stocked up on incandescent bulbs.

I just don't get it. With my $0.06/KWh electricity rate, I love incadescent bulbs. Making fluorescent bulbs uses lots of electricity, produces tons of greenhouse gases and let's not mention all the mercury years from now that is found in the bulbs (fluorescent bulbs are lit when current passes through mercury gas in the bulb)? I have a degree in Chemistry and let's just say picking up mercury in it's pure form is like picking up jello with oven mitts. It's a liquid metal. There are products that help the cleanup but you can't just sweep it up. And considering it accumulates on the brain stem, my brain needs no more help in self destruction. It does enough of that on it's own.

LED bulbs are great. But paying $30 each for an equivalent 50W recessed light gets expensive when you have 18 recessed lights in your basement.

My 2 cents.

Andrew

PS, I bought enough incandescent bulbs to last me 2-3 years :)

Reactions: flyingcow
Interesting, wonder if this will include the "rough service" bulbs we use on site. House is about halfway converted to LED from CFL now so I assume I can just keep on with that replacement as needed. We needed the LED for all the dimming lights so that was the reason for that switch.