barometric damper?

Post in 'The Boiler Room - Wood Boilers and Furnaces' started by tjvt, Jun 17, 2014.

  1. tjvt

    tjvt
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    9
    Loc:
    Barnet, VT
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. henfruit

    henfruit
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    33
    Loc:
    New Hampshire-Maine border
    if you have more draft than the boiler spec calls for, then yes it would be a good choice.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. tjvt

    tjvt
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    9
    Loc:
    Barnet, VT
    How the heck do I know that? Excuse my ignorance. I assume I need some sort of draft-measuring device?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. maple1

    maple1
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6,372
    Likes Received:
    1,103
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    Yes.

    A Dwyer Model 25 Mark II is a good one.

    (Not 100% sure I got that 100% right - that's from a poor-at-times memory).
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. ewdudley

    ewdudley
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    308
    Loc:
    Cayuga County NY
    At the risk of hijacking the thread a little, do units with closed-loop stack temperature control, e.g., Fröling, require a barometric damper?
     
  6. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    8,850
    Likes Received:
    628
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. DaveBP

    DaveBP
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    29
    Loc:
    SW Maine
    That digital meter has a 40" range. Recommended drafts for boilers are about 1/20". I don't think you could count on the accuracy of the meter to give you a measurement that would mean anything useful.

    Chimney draft meters are pretty sensitive devices. They measure too narrow a range to be useful for much else.
     
    Owen1508 likes this.
  8. heaterman

    heaterman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,348
    Likes Received:
    617
    Loc:
    Falmouth, Michigan
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. taxidermist

    taxidermist
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    15
    Loc:
    Fowlerville MI
    I use this one.

     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    8,850
    Likes Received:
    628
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    It's cheap enough so you can just mount it permanently near the boiler(s). Even 3" is high though; I suppose that's the lowest range of the Dwyers?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. maple1

    maple1
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6,372
    Likes Received:
    1,103
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    That's the same one I have & was trying to recommend. Mine has been permanently mounted since September 2012. Simple & reliable, and seems to be quite accurate too. Took just a little bit of fiddling, and a little bit of spilled red stuff, to get it zeroed the first time but I haven't touched it since. When burning in the winter I'm pretty steady right at 0.1".
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. tjvt

    tjvt
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    9
    Loc:
    Barnet, VT
    Does the Mark II 25 come with detailed instructions regarding where to mount, where to measure, etc? Do most of you have your dampers below your T like taxidermist? For whatever reason I envisioned installing mine above my T, between my T and the stove pipe.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. maple1

    maple1
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6,372
    Likes Received:
    1,103
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    My manometer probe is about 6" from the back of my boiler, then my barometric damper is a couple feet downstream of that, followed right away by a cleanout T that sends things up out my chimney - except for a bit of ash that doesn't make it up & out & therefore settles in the bottom of the cleanout.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. brenndatomu

    brenndatomu
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,985
    Likes Received:
    550
    Loc:
    NE Ohio
    The draft probe needs to go in between the baro and the stove. Preferably in the middle of a straight run of pipe
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. taxidermist

    taxidermist
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    15
    Loc:
    Fowlerville MI
    I only put it there because it was a after thought and i would hav had to buy more high $$$ pipe to make it work. That being said it works great where it is and it stays very clean.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  16. flyingcow

    flyingcow
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,543
    Likes Received:
    329
    Loc:
    northern-half of maine
    Did not put one in..works fine
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page