Basement Install

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Battenkiller

Minister of Fire
Nov 26, 2009
Just Outside the Blue Line
OK, no flak about basement installs. I've been burning in the basement for 21 years now and it works for me. I'm finally moving to a new place that actually has room for a stove upstairs, but there is already a nice Harmon pellet stove installed in the LR. The place is only 1248 sq.ft, and has nice, tight construction (modern modular home) with R-19 walls and R-38 in the ceiling. There is R-25 glass between the floor joists as well. So, I'm thinking I can heat most of the season just using the pellet stove.

If I go that route I am going to want to put a wood stove in the basement where my shop will be. Problem is that right now it is uninsulated, with poured concrete walls. It is a walkout basement, with a large area that is all above grade, therefore making it even harder to heat. I'll be slowly framing out 2x4 walls, adding insulation and sheetrock over it all, but I doubt I'll get much done by spring. The plan is to put a nice soapstone stove down there, in the area that will be the recreation room.