Basement

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rmcgr8one

Oct 24, 2012
Southern NH
This is my first year with the stove. I was wonder how cold does it need to get in the basement for the pipes to freeze? Also how cold is your basement?

I bought one of those indoor outdoor thermostats and the basement has been sitting at 50.

This morning it was 48 so I fired up the furnace for one heat cycle and it raised it to 50.

Does anyone else do this?

I have one basement - where the pellets are, that cannot go below 55 as it is it's own heating zone. So the only room the oil burner is heating right now is that one. (Can't let the pellets get cold you know) My other basement, where the oil burner is, and from whence all the pipes emanate, is 51.8 right now. All that is heating that room is the burner when it occasionally comes on to heat the pellet room or my hot water. We'll see how cold it gets with the -10 degree temps predicted here.

This is also my first year and I would think that as long as you don't have any pipes hidden in crawl spaces (as someone said to me) 48 would be fine. Personally, I don;t know how much below 45 or so I would go, just to be on the safe side; but perhaps someone who has had an issue with this has a better response.

One thing I have done, is open the cupboard door under my sink as that gets quite cold being on an outside wall. This way there is some warmer air flow into that area as an added preventive.

My basement is about 85* now...