best indoor commercial wood boiler?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Maynard

Dec 21, 2013
Elizabeth Il
Hi all,
Im new to this great forum. You guys have helped me greatly in the past through reading conversations.
I own a 28k sq. Ft. 3 story school Building in northern Illinois. I am converting it into an antique mall. It currently has a 750k btu Gas boiler to heat it. Im looking to heat it with a large indoor wood boiler. I've looked into and spoke with reps. From garn, econoburn, eko, tarm, royall. The most important factor for me is burn time. I will leave the building at 5:30p.m. and hope when I return in the morn. I still have hot coals at 7:30a.m. so I can simply throw some wood in and keep going. Im having a hard time finding a boiler that can handle more than a 3hr burn time. Is there something I can do to get a 12 hr. Burn time? I understand my BTUs won't be as high. What would you put in if you were in my shoes? All feed back is greatly appreciated.
Im thinking around 500k BTUs and letting my nat. Gas boiler pick up the rest.

Perhaps you should shift your thinking just a bit, and not focus just on burn times. Batch burning into storage should be more efficient - if you have space for lots of storage. That's a pretty big space your heating - do some searching for posts by jebatty, or search for 'deep portage'. He's got lots of time on 3 different boilers in that kind of situation. A pellet boiler might be another possibility?

Edit: I would put a big garn at the top of my candidate list.