Best metalbestos chimney?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Knots

Minister of Fire
Mar 13, 2013
Alfred, Maine
I'm building a new house with a Jotul F55 in the center of the basement. Since there won't be any other flues in the house (1-floor ranch) I'm thinking of going with an SS chimney to save a little money and have (what I would guess) is a better roof penetration than a masonry chimney.

I have no experience or knowledge of these types of chimneys.

1. I see the term "Class A' thrown around. What does that mean?

2. Is there one brand that is better than the others? I don't want to screw around on a brand new house that I may be in a long time.

3. Are there any installation tips I should be aware of? Clean-out configurations?

Thanks in advance for any help.

http://www.hartshearth.com/chimney/chimneys.htm

Metalbestos is a Class A chimney manufacturer. There are others. Personally, I would choose ICC Excel. I've installed it in many homes, including mine. It has a lifetime replacement warranty. Your best installation is straight up, with no offsets. That should be included in your house plans. Depending on the pitch of your roof, & the location of your chimney in relation to the peak, you may be able to brush straight down from the top & into the stove. That is the least messy way to clean. Simply vacuum out the stove after the dust settles... If you burn good dry wood, your cleaning will be minimal at best. HTH