1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Best method of cleaning insert liner?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Justin M, Nov 23, 2012.

  1. Justin M

    Justin M Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    I have a Harman Accentra insert. I was thinking about getting a lint eater setup up. Is it easier to clean from the top or the bottom? I was thinking of cleaning from the top, and have my shop vac running at the bottom while I clean, or block the opening and deal with the ash after I get down from the roof. Or, I could clean from the bottom while running the leaf blower trick on the roof. Either way I think I'm going to have to build a support frame so that I can slide out the insert for access.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Since you have an insert, it seems either method is going to require you to pull the stove out and disconnect the exhaust to clean the pipe (leaf blower only really removes LOOSE ash inside the stove). That being the case, I'd hook the vac to the bottom, and use the Lint Eater from the top.

    Remember, when doing the regular leaf blower cleaning, the stove and pipe should given a thorough "regular" cleaning first. The leaf blower is just the last & "final touch" to get the hidden stuff you can't see or reach.
  3. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,354
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403
    pull the insert out and the frame will stay (you hope). this disconnects the stove from liner and starts you making a mess. Insert your vacuum from the bottom (new filter in place) now insert the brush from the bottom. This will catch all the ask as the brush goes up the liner. this should get everything from the liner. The Accentra itself is a whole other issue when you pull the panels and clean the exhaust path.

    FYI send the wife to the store as you do this just in case you make to big of a mess.

    Eric
  4. Justin M

    Justin M Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    My hearth stone is about 1' off the floor, so I will need to support the stove in order to pull it out far enough to access the liner.
    That part was easy. I've cleaned the stove itself twice so far with no issues. The only thing I haven't done yet is pull the stove out far enough for an annual cleaning when I will remove the combustion blower, clean the liner, etc., but I'm hoping I can make it to the end of the season before I have to do that.
  5. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,354
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403

    Lay down 2"x4" or call a buddy and have refreshments ready.

    As for the exhaust path, are you sure? I have explained this to all my customers and without showing them, none have done it correctly. The stove has to be pulled out to do it correctly so I would say nope.
  6. Montnl

    Montnl New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Loc:
    Northwestern, MA
    I have an Englander 25-PI insert and my hearth stone is also about 1' above the floor and not much room to pull it out. I have made an extension to support the stove with 4" x 4"s at the same height as the stone hearth, then I use 1/2" steel pipes to roll the stove out. Makes exhaust pipe and stove cleaning easier for one person.
  7. Justin M

    Justin M Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    No, I'm not sure. I have followed the written instructions as well as the video from Harman. The only thing that I think I haven't done other than what I already mentioned is pulling the door by the ESP probe to clean the exhaust area there. I was under the impression that it would only have to be done annually. Should it be done more frequently? Is there anything else that I am missing? Thanks for the help.
  8. Justin M

    Justin M Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    The stand from Harman is pretty pricey, so I'm thinking of building something like that.
  9. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,354
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403

    Once you remove the panels inside the firebox there is a exhaust port on the lower left. Take that fancy little brush they give you and insert it there till you run out of handle. This pushes all the fly ash to the back. Remove the combustion blower and shop vac all that out. It will not go away on it's own. If any of it is tar/creosote covered you waited to long to do it. Now remove the brush. If it does not go all the way into the chamber you did not clean it enough. Now clean the blades of the combustion fan and put it back in. Never hurts to clean the ESP also. If you have fur bearing critters in the house clean the circulation blower located under the unit.

    Eric
  10. Justin M

    Justin M Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    I did my 3rd full cleaning today since the ash pan was full again. I have been doing everything that you mentioned each time with the exception of taking off the combustion blower and removing the cover by the ESP probe. I did it today and it was pretty clean in there, just had to clean up the blades on the combustion fan a little.
    kinsmanstoves likes this.
  11. briansol

    briansol Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,809
    Loc:
    central ct
    I've found that burning clean pellets helps a lot. I would say i relaly didn't NEED to clean out my blower for probably 5 tons through it before it was noticably dirty and i didn't feel like i wasted my time with all th ebolts and such.

Share This Page