Best Value Saw?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sl7vk

Jun 26, 2008
Salt Lake City, UT
I'm new to wood, but I will be cutting this fall. In Utah you can cut 2 cords per year off of forest service land for a 10 dollar permit....

I'm a value shopper, for most things. I like the value that you get with Echo saws.... but I'd like some suggestions.

I'm looking for something in the 250 dollar price range.

The Echo cs-400 can be had for about that price, but people seem to love Domar around here. I think the 5100's is too much saw for me, but what about their smaller units? Thanks in advance for suggestions, or help....

Hi - I just bought a used Dolmar (Makita) 6300 for $250 at Home Depot. I also have a 5100. The 5100 is light and fast. I think you would get great service out of it. Echo's are fine as well.

ATB,
Mike P

I think zzr7ky means Dolmar/Makita 6400. Anyway IMO $250 is not enough to buy a good quality new saw for the amount of cutting you will be doing. I would look for a used Husky 346XP, 359, Dolmar 5100, or $tihl 290, or increase your budget to $400 and buy one of them new.

$250 for a new saw is pretty limiting. I think that you're right, the CS400 is about as good a new saw as you're likely to find for that price. I'd think that it would be a nice firewood machine with a 14" bar and a sharp chain, assuming you're going to be sticking with smaller trees.

Thats the ticket small trees. Your not going to be happy if you are planning on bucking anything large..Just keep that in mind.

Hi -

Yes- Clarkharms is correct I ment the Dolmar/Makita 6400.