Better Firestarter than Super Cedars

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

partybob99

Sep 21, 2010
NorthWest, OH
I've been using Super Cedars for the last three years to start fires in my Napoleon 1402 insert. I usually use 1/4 to get a fire going, but sometimes have to use a half. The cedars light and heat up quickly. They usually last 20 to 25 minutes before burning out. My primary complaint is the mess when trying to break them up into pieces. I always break them while they are still in the plastic and then try to carefully open them into a ziploc bag so the crumbs dont go everywhere. I am not sure how the "naked" perforated cedars perform.

For XMAS this year, I received some new firestarter squares made by Rutland. They are basically sheets of compressed cardboard material that are perforated so they can be broken off easily WITH ZERO MESS. There are 144 squares in the box and costs around $17.00. I usually break off two squares and bend the two into an L shape - keeping them attached - and place them into the stove on their edge. They light instantly and get very hot very quickly. I have noticed the fires seem to rage even hotter and get going faster compared to Super Cedars. Their only shortcoming is the short burn time, but I've had no problems getting my stove going. I love them because there is no mess, no crumbs, no ziploc bags, etc.

Link to them on Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/Rutland-Safe-...=1390572860&sr=8-1&keywords=rutland+safe+lite