Big Chimney

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Aish haTorah

Nov 13, 2007
Baltimore
I am new to this forum- just signed on because I can't find an answer anwhere else. I am replacing an old pre-fab fireplace ("Majestic") with a Napoleoan 1100 woodstove. The fireplace flue is 10"; the Napoleon is 6". My major issue is the chimney- it has an interior diameter of 10", and the exterior looks to be about 18"! What kind of a chimney is this? and can I use it safely?

NO!

I am wondering what you are doing exactly to "replace" the built in fireplace with a free standing stove? Sounds like a lot of work but people do it. Just wanted to make sure this is really what you are doing.

Anyway.... you CAN NOT use that old chimney. It is air cooled and designed and tested ONLY for specific fireplaces. You will need to tear it all out and replace it with Class A.

Thank you for the reply- the existing fireplace is a free-standing open fire place; sort of like a wood stove that's open on 3 sides with a metal mesh curtain. It's easy to remove- just take off the pipe and haul it out!
Does the existing chimney sound like a triple- wall?

Is the ID 10 inches, what comes out the roof? If you are purchasing this from a dealer, have them take a look for you.