1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Himhall

    Himhall New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    NE US
    I purchased a Big E about a year ago. This is its second season of use.

    My problem is that the stove will not turn on at all. If I unplug it, then plug it back in, the circulating fan will kick on for about a sec, then shut right off. I have bypassed all the snap switches to see if one of them was the problem. When I jumped the wires connected to the snap switch on the combustion blower, the stove will come on and burn for about 15 min. Then the auger will stop feeding pellets and both fans continue running.

    Can anyone lend me a hand?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    without the low limit switched bypassed what Feed light flashes when the stove shuts back off?
    your owners manual tell you what the broblem might be by looking at what lite flashes when it faults out.

    more than likely it is the Pressure/vacuum switch tripped
    On the new digital boards it goes into a Test cycle when you start it.
    it if dont read pressure it shuts right back off in a few seconds
    Or if you have the door or ash pan open.
  3. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    <snip from owners manual>
    STOVE SHUTS OFF AND THE # 2 LIGHT FLASHES

    Possible Causes: Possible Remedies: (Unplug stove first when possible)
    1. Airflow switch hose or stove attachment pipes for hose are
    blocked.
    Unhook air hose from the air switch and blow through it. If air flows
    freely, the hose and tube are fine. If air will not flow throw the hose,
    use a wire coat hanger to clear the blockage.

    2. The air inlet, burnpot, interior combustion air chambers,
    combustion blower, or exhaust pipe are blocked with ash or
    foreign material.
    Follow all cleaning procedures in the maintenance section of the
    owner’s manual.

    3. The firebox is not properly sealed.
    Make sure the door is closed and that the gasket is in good shape.
    If the ash door has a latch, make sure the ash door is properly
    latched and the gasket is sealing good. If the stove has just a small
    hole for the ashes to fall through under the burnpot, make sure the
    slider plate is in place to seal off the firebox floor.

    4. Vent pipe is incorrectly installed.
    Check to make sure vent pipe installation meets criteria in owner’s
    manual.

    5. The airflow switch wire connections are bad.
    Check the connectors that attach the gray wires to the air switch.

    6. The gray wires are pulled loose at the Molex connector on the
    wiring harness.
    Check to see if the gray wires are loose at the Molex connector.

    7. Combustion blower failure.
    With the stove on, check to see if the combustion blower is running.
    If it is not, you will need to check for power going to the combustion
    blower. It should be a full current. If there is power, the blower is
    bad. If there is not, see #8.

    8. Control board not sending power to combustion blower.
    If there is no current going to the combustion blower, check all wire
    connections. If all wires are properly connected, you have a bad
    control board.

    9. Control board not sending power to air switch.
    There should be a 5-volt current (approximately) going to the air
    switch after the stove has been on for 30 seconds.

    10. Air switch has failed (very rare).
    To test the air switch, you will need to disconnect the air hose from
    the body of the stove. With the other end still attached to the air
    switch, very gently suck on the loose end of the hose (you may want
    to remove the hose entirely off the stove and the air switch first and
    make sure it is clear). If you hear a click, the air switch is working.
    BE CAREFUL TOO MUCH VACUUM CAN DAMAGE THE AIR
    SWITCH.
  4. Himhall

    Himhall New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    NE US
    Thanks, but I dont think you understand. Without bypassing the combustion fan snap switch, I have no start up, no lights, no nothing, its like it doesnt have power at all. When I unplug the unit and then plug it back in, I notice the unit gets enough power for a split second, enough to make the blower fan move the squirrel cage on the circulation fan.

    Even when the snap switch is by passed, after it runs 15 min, it stops feeding pellets, but both fans continue to run. No lights flashing or showing at this time either.

    I have gone through the manual. There is no senario for my situation, thats why I have asked here in this forum. Your help is appreciated.
  5. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    The low limit switch will not shut the stove off at start up
    The control board gives power to the combustion blower for the first 15 minutes then the Prof of fire low limit switch takes over If it reaches 120 deg and closes.

    have limited Hands on experiences with the Breckwell ACE board
    but I have lots of experience with the Enviro ACE board (same board Manufacture) and know for a fact that on the enviro board the stove goes into a 10 second Check system start up mode. If the board does not read power through the Pressure/vacuum switch it will shut down and the # 2 feed lite will be flashing.
    See # 9 in the above post.
    If you have Tried blowing out the Vacuum hose and know for sure the pressure switch has not tripped.
  6. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    Ok I went back and read the manual

    Do you have any lights at all on the board?
    have you check and or replaced the fuse?

    Did you try jumping or reseting if it is a Manual reset the HI limit switch?

    Also check the thermostat mode selector or jumpers at the back are were they belong
    if you are not using a stat make sure the jumpers are in the thermostat terminal block.
    I have had on the Pre Thermostat mode selector switch style board
    My service guys sucked the jumper off the back of the board with the vacuum cleaning
    and board would not turn on the stove.



    If you have jumped every limit switch and Vacuum switch and sure the fuse is good
    then you may have a bad 401 control board.
    I due believe we have them in stock
  7. Himhall

    Himhall New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    NE US
    If the control board is bad, why would the stove operate normally for 15 min when the low limit switch is jumped??
  8. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    I dont know
    The control board is the last thing I would replace but not rule it out.

    The low limit is NOT the problem
    After the 15 minutes the auger stops working right.


    The only way we can help you is if you answers some of our questions so we stop asking you what you have done.

    Did this just start happening all at once? Or was it after a cleaning?
    or someone screwing around with the stove and this started happening.

    what mode are you running it at?
    Thermostat
    Hi Low
    ON OFF

    Manual mode with no thermostat.

    Check the Vacuum line and or jumped the wires to the vacuum switch?

    Have you done the annual service on the stove?
    Clean Venting?
    Pull blowers BOTH and clean?
    Clean all ash traps?


    Jumped the HI limit switch?

    next step would be to call your dealer
    If your stove is ONLY a year old you might have a chance with warantee.
    If you bought this on line? GOOD LUCK.

    Call Breckwell directly.
    They are going to ask you the same questions above.
  9. Himhall

    Himhall New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    NE US
    Thanks for everything, I found the problem.
  10. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    Would you like to share in case anyone else ever has the same problem?
  11. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    and the problem was?
  12. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    lol Jtp
    we posted at the exact same time
  13. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    I would like to know what you found was wrong so we can help others with the same problem in the future
  14. Himhall

    Himhall New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    NE US
    Well............it would be embarrising to say, but lets just say it was as simple as the switch on the top of the board..........need I say more? <lol>

    Later all and thanks agian!
  15. MainePellethead

    MainePellethead Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    873
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    ah yes....the "ole" maybe if I plug it in it might work routine lol...I think we all have at least done somethinglike that once.....some maybe twice lol
  16. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    I figured that
    and that is why I asked about what mode you are running it in.

    I have Chewed out Enviro (they use the same style board as breckwell) for putting that switch on the face of the board for it will cause a lot of Nuisance service calls for nothing.
  17. johnnywarm

    johnnywarm Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,244
    Loc:
    Connecticut

    What switch are we talking about??? I have a Big E.

    John
  18. buildingmaint

    buildingmaint Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    459
    Loc:
    Oil City PA
    The top switch on mine is the ON / OFF -- HIGH / LOW--and MANUAL . When I tried to run mine on High / Low ---On/ Off without a external stat it would only run on # 1 would not go any higher. I have never tried to run it on Manual with my stat , but I can turn my stat off .
  19. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    That is the switch
    they might NOT have a stat connected to it and had the Mode switch over to the ON and OFF mode.
    when they push the start button nothing is going to happen because the Thermostat wires are NOT jumped together for a closed cercuit. If you are not going to have a thermostat it is a good idea to put a jumper on the thermostat connector so if the stove get moved over it will still work.
  20. johnnywarm

    johnnywarm Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,244
    Loc:
    Connecticut
    NOT jumped together for a closed cercuit. If you are not going to have a thermostat it is a good idea to put a jumper on the thermostat connector so if the stove get moved over it will still work.[/quote]


    What do you mean"Moved over"??
  21. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth

    What do you mean"Moved over"??[/quote]
    Sorry
    Im paying bills and replying back to people at the same time.


    The switch moved over from Manual mode to Thermostat mode.
  22. johnnywarm

    johnnywarm Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,244
    Loc:
    Connecticut
    Sorry
    Im paying bills and replying back to people at the same time.


    The switch moved over from Manual mode to Thermostat mode.[/quote]


    Thanks. Just toss the bill in the trash. it works for me.

    John
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page