big questions about burning pallets

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mlandon1963

Mar 6, 2008
central Mo.
I'm new to burning wood and have a quad 3100i insert,I have access to an almost unlimited supply of used pallet wood,am wondering what kind of pallet wood can i burn,these are pallets rated for international use(as a rule)they have HT stamped on most of them,I assume this means heat treated,not quite sure what that means and whether or not they are safe to burn,would still use cord wood primarily for overnites and while at work,i know this stuff will burn hot and would certainly not use it exclusively,but it seems such a waste to throw this stuff in the dump,which is what we are doing and have been doing for years,anyone see anything wrong with burning this stuff by mixing it in with my cordwood???would appreciate any replies,thank you,i am willing to deal with the issues of the nails

HT appears to be a requirement for Europe. It does stand for heat treated or kiln dried. Do be careful, it will burn hot and fast, but it would make good kindling. There are lots of threads on the subject if you search on - burn pallet.

Here's one to get you started:

https://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/viewthread/16290/