Bixby Frustrations - Please Help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

buffbacon

Dec 25, 2014
Central MN
Howdy! I am new to the this forum and new to the world of corn/pellet stoves. I bought a used Bixby 110 off craigslist and recently installed it in my living room. Before installation, I gave the beast a thorough cleaning and installed two new igniters. I also used all new exhaust/vent system purchased through Bixby Stove Parts and had both the mother board and igniter board overhauled by Bixby Stove Parts - He also installed a switch to go from corn to pellet burning mode since I plan on burning mainly pellets. I have a pallet of Heartland Ultra Premium Pellets.

I've been struggling with the stove for about a week and can't seem to keep it burning...It starts just fine and seems to burn great for about four hours (on setting 3 or 4) until the burn pot fills up with ash and partially burnt pellets to above the vortex holes in the burn pot and eventually snuffs itself out. I have studied all the manuals and feel pretty confident that it is burning at a normal air/fuel ratio - I've tried many combinations of air and feed rate combos. It seems to work pretty well at +/- 0 air and +1 feed. Everything else seems to be working fine - heat is awesome - no flashing lights - clean glass (until it chokes out) - minimal (if any) exhaust smoke just a little steam now and again.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated...I guess my first troubleshooting questions are: