black soot... adjustment needed?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

OhioBurner©

Minister of Fire
Aug 20, 2010
Center of Ohio
I know burning wood that black soot shouldn't happen. I'm new to pellets, and since the air and fuel is all controlled I'm not sure exactly if I need to adjust setting on my ESW PAH. It seemed to be burning fine for a couple weeks then it got all clogged up and burning terrible and producing black soot a few days ago. Well I'm still not sure what happened but after a good cleaning (instead of just the daily cleaning I did the monthly, plus hooked up the shop vac to the vent pipe for a good cleaning). However the black soot problem seemed to stick around. The first couple days it wasn't so bad but the last couple days during startup after cleaning the glass gets 75% covered in black soot.

Now I did throw in one variable in the mix... I had been burning sets but my wife refilled it with AWF white pine. I got the for the coldest days, and this surely counts, so I'm just going to go with it (probably over 100 lbs still in hopper).

I've been debating adjusting 'the magic buttons' or whatever, but I'm unsure what adjustment to make for black soot.

I haven't touched the settings, they are 1 for low fuel feed and 4 for low burn air. I don't really know what else to look for to tune this stove, it seems to burn OK. It does go through pellets faster than rated, with a heat range = 1 I go through about 50lbs a day.

Double check your manual, sounds like you need more air for the fire..doubt it that its the pellets.. I'd try to adjust the air first.