Black stove pipe first then double wall...why?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wg_bent

Minister of Fire
Nov 19, 2005
Poughkeepsie, NY
I notice in pretty much all the free standing stove installations that they use black stove pipe, then switch to double wall stainless or better going through walls and then outside.

Why isn't a stainless pipe required similar to a chimney liner? I guess another way to ask this... why isn't stove pipe o.k. as a chimney liner? Just curious.

Warren
I'm no expert and I'm sure Elk or one of the stove/tech guys will chime in, but my understanding is that black wall stove pipe is thinner guage, and not as robust as SS, but this is not as much of an issue where the pipe is exposed to the air and can release some of it's heat. A lot of older stoves wouldn't have much heat except for what was thrown off the pipe. Inserts, etc. where the pipe is usually closed in would not allow the heat to dissipate fast enough off this thin stuff and it would fail.

Willhound

I was told black stove pipe will rust through in a couple years, and wont hold up to a chimney fire if used as a liner.