Black walnut vs box elder

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Chargerman

Feeling the Heat
Oct 22, 2009
SW Wisconsin
Our farm has a lot of walnut tops from logging that I have been burning for several years that are fairly easy pickings. Not as good as oak but it kept the house warm.

The farm also has a lot of box elder on it because of a stream running through it. Last fall a rather large boxelder fell across one of my paths so I cut out the section in my way and left the rest lay there because everyone considers it junk wood around my area. Is this thing worth cutting up for firewood? I have never burned the stuff so I was wondering how it compares to walnut. It is still solid yet as most is up in the air and super easy pickings. I don't know if I should leave it to rot or get after it. I did cut a 8" test round off the other day and it split easily and it didn't stink too bad. I am guessing there will be at least 1.5-2 cords or more there. This would be used for 2011/12 season BTW so drying time wouldn't be an issue.

It would save the walnut some so that I can burn more years without having to "waste" it during the shoulder season.

Has anyone burned both to give a comparison of burn time or heat? I know neither are "high" on the scale. My stove does have a large firebox and is a Cat so burn times are pretty good with walnut going 10+ hours easy.

Chargerman said:
Our farm has a lot of walnut tops from logging that I have been burning for several years that are fairly easy pickings. Not as good as oak but it kept the house warm.