Blackened chimney cap

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mlasko

Sep 24, 2008
Western PA
This is my first year with a woodburner. As I gather more wood from outside, I'm constantly looked at the chimney to measure how much smoke is pouring out. My quesiton is, are your chimney caps blacked or darkened brown? I have a triple wall exterior chimney. I've only been burning for about 2 months now and yes my wood is seasoned well.

Since the cap is not insulated it gets cold, so it's to be expected that it can get some black on it. If it isn't dripping creosote and running down the outside of the chimney, I wouldn't worry about it.

what would creosote running down the side indicate? I didnt know creosote could be a liquid.

ahhh...that makes sense....nah no creosote leaking anywhere, was just making sure since I haven't ever burned before....much thanks!

mikepinto65 said:
what would creosote running down the side indicate? I didnt know creosote could be a liquid.

When the wood has too much moisture in it the creosote can be pretty moist. You can actually get "creosote-cicles" hanging off the cap in the winter.

Blackening a chimney cap is normal. "smoke is pouring out" isn't!

mikepinto65 said:
I didnt know creosote could be a liquid.