1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Blaze King thermostat faulty

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by RustyShackleford, Mar 2, 2010.

  1. krae

    krae New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Loc:
    Palouse Country
    another place to get great knowledge on how cats work and the do's and dont's is the guy @ http://www.firecatcombustors.com/Default.asp :( can't remember his name but I do have it written down somewhere. this is where I got the new cat..... this guy will explain the who, what, why,, when, for, etc of the cats....

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Highbeam

    Highbeam Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    9,417
    Loc:
    base of Mt. Rainier on the wet side, WA
    Bumping the thread means to make a post to it which will bring it to the top of the list of threads when sorted by "most recent". Unburied.

    Whenever I hear of super low burn times, lots of heat, regular draft, and a low stat setting I think of this thread.
  3. krae

    krae New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Loc:
    Palouse Country
    ahh I seee !!!
  4. RustyShackleford

    RustyShackleford Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    689
    Loc:
    NC
    "Bump" is internet chatroom speak for making a usually-content free reply to a thread, so it appears high up in the list of topics and is therefore more likely to be noticed. I'm glad the thread was helpful to you !
  5. claybe

    claybe Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Loc:
    Colorado
    I just found and read this whole thread. I had my princess insert installed 3 days ago and can't figure out what I am doing wrong. I will do the test and see what I can figure out. I have had to reload 3 times today and am still striving to keep the house warm. And, I loaded up last night before bed around 10 and set it on the second dot and had to reload this morning at 7 and the house was cold. It's frustrating because I splurged and I am not yet impressed.
  6. Melo0877

    Melo0877 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Loc:
    New Mexico
    Glad I found this forum! I had a BK Princess installed last week and it wasn't working proper... figured out the knob on the tstat wasn't regulating the flap. Removed the cover in back and the rod wasn't moving with the knob. Although it's a simple fix, I'm having the dealership drive out an hour to where I'm at to replace the part.
  7. HotCoals

    HotCoals Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,357
    Loc:
    Rochester,Ny.
    I would do the same..it should be right from the factory.
    Document it!
  8. RustyShackleford

    RustyShackleford Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    689
    Loc:
    NC
    At the risk of being self-aggrandizing, I am going to bump this thread again, at the beginning of the new burning season. I urge all BK owners (at least those who have not been made aware of this issue before) to read this thread, paying particular attention to posts #1, 16, and 17.

    Also, lest I seem to be a "BK basher", look at post #75 as well.

    Also, I should point out, that although I appear to have "discovered" this problem, as far as this forum is concerned, I had considerable help (in fact, I might not have ever figured out that I had the problem) were it not for the commendable candor of a tech guy at BK who mentioned the possible problem. But I continue to believe that BK should send a bulletin concerning the problem to all registered owners, and to their dealers.
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2014
  9. HotCoals

    HotCoals Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,357
    Loc:
    Rochester,Ny.
    I concur and the pics you posted in post 16 really show the t-stat and the flapper really well.
    RustyShackleford likes this.
  10. RustyShackleford

    RustyShackleford Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    689
    Loc:
    NC
    I'd like to re-iterate that, if you decide to remove the thermostat cover (in order to directly observe the operation of the flapper valve), you are going against the stove manufacturer's direct instructions (not to remove the cover). So be careful; you can do it, but heed this: before you re-install the cover, make SURE the thermostat control knob is turned down to a low setting so that the flapper valve is completely closed. If not, the edge of the flapper valve can possibly become wedged against the inside of the cover, and the thermostat ain't gonna work very well !
  11. HotCoals

    HotCoals Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,357
    Loc:
    Rochester,Ny.
    Good post Rusty..they have been warned.
    That said now you can really see what goes on with the t-stat eh?
    RustyShackleford likes this.
  12. buddachoppers

    buddachoppers New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Nebraska
    My Blaze king classic does not want to stay in the active zone under setting 1.45 . I have read the posts about the thermostat settings ,with a cold stove my thermostat goes closed at 1.5 or clink what ever you want to call it . How can the stove run lower than 1.5 if it is closed at 1.5 on a cold stove? I am not complaining just does not seem right, all wood is below 20% moisture content and draft reads .05 . Is this normal as I have a 6mo. old blaze king classic, just seems as it has gotten colder it is not putting out much heat. What is a normal thermostat open at a 2 setting , is yours closed at 1.5 on a cold stove? I am going to re fire up stove with the cover off and see what it does as it warms up ,just trying to see what the average is . Thanks for any info!
  13. Highbeam

    Highbeam Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    9,417
    Loc:
    base of Mt. Rainier on the wet side, WA
    Even when it "clinks" closed, the flapper has a minimum sized hole in it. Punched right in the flapper so that it is never really closed. Is that enough air for you? Maybe, maybe not. Not for my stove.
  14. buddachoppers

    buddachoppers New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Nebraska
    my thermostat has no hole in it as some of the other pictures
  15. jeff_t

    jeff_t Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,767
    Loc:
    SE MI
    The King models have the hole underneath the flapper. When you have the cover off, open the blade up and you'll see it.
  16. buddachoppers

    buddachoppers New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Nebraska
    I am at work I will look for hole under flapper when I get home . But the question still is should thermostat be closing with a clink at settineg 1.5 I would think it should close at setting 1 so you have adjustment to keep it running ?
  17. jeff_t

    jeff_t Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,767
    Loc:
    SE MI
    It's just numbers on a sticker. The available operating range is more than enough.

    Mine will burn all the way closed, for a couple of days, but I have to give it a bit of a boost sometimes. Usually in the morning and evening, when a little extra heat feels good anyway. Heat it up, then turn it back down. I'll burn it anywhere up to 2.75-3, depending on the weather.

    The thermostat helps to regulate stove temp, not room temp. If your room is colder, you need a hotter stove.

    Every setup is different. You'll have to find what works for yours.

    Don't think too hard about it.
    Quentin2 likes this.
  18. shoot-straight

    shoot-straight Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    292
    Loc:
    Kennedyville, MD
    budda, i also thought my thermo was faulty and was upset the stove wasnt putting out gobs of heat for 30 hours. in the end, as others have said every house/chimney setup is different. they drive how the stove will be able to operate more so than an air intake or stat. one persons 1.5 could be anothers 2. i find i set my stat based on the draft. if its fairly warm out with little wind, i actually have to run the stat higher than one would think. when the wind blows, my draft gos nuts and i can back it down more without it stalling. sometimes i even use my turn damper.
  19. Highbeam

    Highbeam Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    9,417
    Loc:
    base of Mt. Rainier on the wet side, WA
    Ah, you never said you had a king model. I too have a blaze king but it's a princess. Cold stove clink point is right at 1.0 and has held steady over the years. With my chimney and well used cat, I am unable to run the stove with the stat flapper slammed shut. So 1.75 is the low setting.
  20. buddachoppers

    buddachoppers New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Nebraska
    I guess from everyones comments that my stove is close to everyone's so I guess I'll just fire it up and enjoy this fantastic stove . Thanks for comments

Share This Page