Blower Motor Problem or What?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

oliveraction

Feb 12, 2015
Cape Cod MA
Hello All,

I am new at this so bare with me. I've had my Pellet stove for a little more than 7 years now. It's a Lennox Montage model. The stove has been great and I have learned a lot in the past few years but I'm having a little trouble lately.

I noticed this season that there is a squealing noise at start up that quickly goes away. In researching this site I have figured that the bearing in the blower motor (convection) is probably going ( It's the motor behind the control panel on the left side). I also noticed that the motor itself seems very hot to the touch and last week I smelled wood burning in the house and realized the hopper was very hot as well. My wife turned the blower down when she woke up, and it seemed to go back to the cool down mode (as if it was just turned on) even though it had been running all night and my guess is that because the blowers weren't operating like normal it just overheated.