Blower shut off during a burn

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

warmhouse2

Dec 10, 2010
new jersey
I'm new to pellet stoves this is the first full season. Have a Lennox Cascade. Woke up to a house full of smoke apparently the blower turned off but there was still a fire in the burn pot. Any suggestions as to what would cause this? We did not have power surge or loss of power as it is plugged into a battery backup. It is vented horizontally outside with a vertacle vent up 4 feet.

I believe it has something to do with the stove not reading the correct temps or not seeing the fire. Is it systematic? When this happens how long does it burn from start up to the blower shutting off? You may have a dirty/malfunctioning snap switch / photoeye.

The stove was burning for about 6 hours on low speed before the blower shut off.

Has your stove actually ever switched to its battery backup before?

Some stoves have problems running on some battery backup systems.

Also it is possible that your combustion blower either thermaled off or is on its way out.

If it thermaled off then excess ash in the venting or combustion blower could be your problem.

I took a look in the manual for your stove and it says that the low limit (proof of fire) switch is Bakelite, they can get damaged if exposed to a lot of heat over time and then the contacts may either open or get jammed shut as things go out of alignment.