1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Blower - temp sensor problem?

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Mattyrayb, Oct 1, 2013.

  1. Mattyrayb

    Mattyrayb New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    MD
    I have an Enviro Kodiak 1700 that came with a blower.
    I hooked the blower up and it didn't work. I was trying to narrow down the cause by bypassing both the fan control and temp sensor (fan worked; fan ok), hooked to fan control and bypassed sensor (fan worked; control ok), then hooked to sensor and bypassed the control (fan DIDN'T work; sensor is culprit).
    So I assumed it was the sensor, bought another and it still doesn't work.

    This got me thinking:
    what's the purpose of the sensor?
    Does it have to get to a certain temp before it turns on?
    Is there a danger in not using the sensor and just bypassing it?

    FWIW, the wiring schematics were followed.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,399
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    The sensor is a thermodisk. It doesn't close until the firebox reaches a certain temperature. That way the blower will not move cold air. Go to a quiet location & try holding a match to the sensor. You should hear a very small "tink" or Click. That will tell you if it has closed. Many of these thermo disks take 20 minutes to a half hour before they actuate the first time. That may be your case.
  3. Mattyrayb

    Mattyrayb New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    MD
    Thanks!
    Sucks that I bought a new sensor, but I'm glad the blower isn't broken.
  4. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,399
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Now you have a spare. They don't fail often, but when they do, they're irreparable.
  5. maverick06

    maverick06 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    733
    Loc:
    media, pa
    or just bypass the sensor and turn the blower on then you want it... i did.
  6. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,795
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    The sensor is usually placed so that the blower doesn't come on until the mass of the stove body is warmed up. This is good because it allows the fire to come up to full temp before starting to cool down the stove with the blower. On our stove this is typically at least 30-40 minutes when starting up cold. However, once the mass of the stove has warmed up the blower will stay on. Even if it shuts down with an overnight burn it will come on quickly after the morning reload. One thing to make sure of is that the snap disk is in firm contact with the stove body. A little air gap will cause a longer delay.

Share This Page