Blowin' in the wind......

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MarkSJohnson

Oct 30, 2013
Coastal RI
A friend / client of mine lost his furniture-making business and $250,000 wood shop when, on a windy night, a draft (evidently) blew embers onto his wood floor.

I'm new to this whole pellet thing. We have a very windy night coming, with gusts to 50 MPH. Our pellet stove is not our main heat source, so I'm tempted to shut it down for the night. If I do so, I'll "lose" what I've gained in heat in my basement-installed location over the last several days.

Part of me says "why take the chance?" but the logical side says "the fire is behind a latched door, and you haven't heard of people shutting down their stoves in the wind!".

FWIW, I have a Kinderhook with an OAK via a "coaxial" vent system (pipe within a pipe).

What say you, wise ones?

You do what you gotta do to have peace of mind, I run my stove 24/7 no matter what mother nature throws at me.
I feel safe and have no worries about my stove.
Your buddy had a wood burner correct?

Pellet stoves are sealed units and have tons of safeties to prevent bad things. I would let her burn and have sweet dreams.

Yes, I'm sorry. I meant to clarify that he had a wood stove, not a pellet stove.

Yes, I'm sorry. I meant to clarify that he had a wood stove, not a pellet stove.
Your pellet stove is not subject to blowing embers like your friend had in his wood stove. I am not certain as to why you are worried about the wind.

Embers couldn't get out of a pellet stove.

Dave