Bought a Harman Today

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Did you install yourself? If so, how easy? If not, how much for electrician to come out and do it? I was a laborer for an electrician/ hvac company when I put myself through college and pick up some basic skills. Is this something only a pro should attempt?
I didn't do it, because I have a friend who is a licensed electrician, who did it when he wired my house. Over time, I've picked up a lot of basics, but I like to leave the electrical box to the pros. Having said that, this device looked super easy to install, and in hindsight, with the knowledge I have now, if I were to do it now, I'd do it myself and not bother my friend. Given your background, you should be able to do it. When you buy the unit, you'll be able to tell if it's something you can do. Mine's called an Intermatic Panelguard. Dunno how well it works, but in the 8 years I've had my home, nothing's ever gone out due to surges that I can tell, and I've got tons of electronics, as is the norm nowadays.

We'll, here it is. Finished the surround tonight. Heating pretty much the whole house and it's about 25 degrees outside. Seems to be eating a little less than a bag a day of O'Mally's. Don't have a thermometer upstairs but my best guess is around 68. First floor is about 75 in stove room, 73 on the rest of the floor. Thanks for the help and suggestions. Whole house surge protection is going on my 200 amp service Sunday, then I'm done. image.jpg