Boxwood on a coverd deck

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Buzzzmea

Nov 24, 2015
houston
Good Morning everyone,

I'm new to this thread/site and need some guidance/advice...I just recently purchased a fantastic new Boxwood style wood stove from a local garage sale site for pennies on the dollar...it was literally used one time....lol... my intention is to place it on my covered deck outside. It will site on the edge next to the deck railings and I need to know what I can do to fire proof the deck railing behind and also the wood decking below the stove. the flue pipe is going to come directly up, and make two 90 degree elbow bends so it terminates outside and above my roof deck (secured to the eaves with some double walled pipe and some pipe hangers of some sort...). the idea is to be able to sit out on the deck in colder weather and not be smoked out from under it like the chiminea does to us...and also, we enjoy cooking breakfast "old school" on the stove in our cast iron skillets and Dutch ovens...any advice on how to keep the deck and the railing from sparking up while maybe reflecting some of the heat back onto the porch?

Johnny

You will need to treat that just like a home installation. All the clearance to combustibles and hearth requirements should be located in the manual and need to be followed. If I remember correctly, the boxwood has some ridiculous clearance to combustible requirements (like 3 ft).