BRECKWELL BIG E

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

foldsct

Jul 25, 2008
Tolland County, CT
I am new to this, so I need help!

I have a Breckwell that we installed a few weeks ago. Now, my house is FREEZING!!!

I have a 1200 sf ranch, with approx 600 sf finished in the basement. The stove is in the basement..........but neither the basement nor the house are warm! I don't know what I'm doing wrong!

Granted, it is very cold here in CT right now, but I don't understand what's going on. I have the thermostat up to 85..........and it's not anywhere near that! The stove is barely putting out any hot air! The cast iron is cold, and the exhaust pipe is also cool.........

Can anybody give me hints as to what I can do? I was so excited about this stove, but something's up.......it's completely ineffective right now!

Thanks so much!!

Eleanor

That's all I need to do??

Are you serious?

Elle goes downstairs to do exactly what she's told...............

Ok........how do I adjust the room air fan? Yes, I've been reading the owner's manual, but can't find that.

Thank you for all the help!! I need it!!

Make sure you shut the stove off, then change it to manual and turn the stove back on. Don't worry about the room blower, put the heat on #3 or #4 and you will be toasty in no time

StoveMiser said:
Make sure you shut the stove off, then change it to manual and turn the stove back on. Don't worry about the room blower, put the heat on #3 or #4 and you will be toasty in no time

Uh oh.........I didn't turn the stove off when I changed it.