Breckwell P24FS pellet stove an pellets

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

moralleper

Aug 24, 2006
Kalama, WA
I am new to pellet stoves and pellets as I switched from wood to pellets at the end of last year heating season. I was curious if anybody out there has a Breckwell or knows how they do on various pellets? My father inlaw has a Whitfield and it seems to be rather picky about pellets and how well it burns them.

thanks,

Breckwell's are getting better.
a lot of Manufactureing flaws in the past.

DONT BUY FROM A ONLINE DEALER
Or you will not be happy. You WILL NEED SOME FACE TO FACE SUPPORT with the breckwell.

I already have the stove, I got free from a relative. I replaced the convection blower and a high limit switch, as well and sanded the whole thing down to bare metal and repainted, and all seems well now. I was just curious if I should be looking for a certain brand of pellets. I have burned Golden Fire and they were good but a bit expensive. I just bought some Burnmaster but have not tried them yet.

Service issues aside I've always felt that Breckwell was one of the least picky stoves when it came to its food. They seem to "breath" very well. I've dealt with many pellet stove brands over the years and from my observation Breckwells had the least change in performance per pellet brand.

moralleper, I don't think you will notice as much of an extreme difference with your stove as your FIL does. Depending on the age and model of his stove Whitfields can be very picky, but thats a whole different issue.

But keep this in mind-