Breckwell won't stay lit, no fan

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Racer19

Dec 18, 2014
No Cal
I'm new to pellet stoves, bought a new house in July that has a Breckwell Tahoe PS2000i insert. It's worked fine for the last month or so but now it won't stay lit and I'm not hearing the fan kick on like before. When I turn it on, it heats up, feeds pellets and lights normaly after 10 min or so. I've noticed that the on/off light continually flashes and after burning for 20 min or so, the fire goes out. It continues feeding pellets but there's no more fire. I'm guessing that since the fan doesn't kick on, it's getting overheated and shuting off?I pulled the stove out and cleaned and vacuumed everything. Really need to get this fixed, any advise would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you

Last edited:
Sounds like you need to close your damper a bit (slide it to the right). If you get too much air at lower settings the pellets burn up before more drop in and the fire goes out. I leave mine completely closed (all the way to the right) for levels one and two and only slide it to the right about 1/2" for level three (I never have a need to burn higher then three).

If you are burning on level one, try hitting the "reset trim" button until the 1 and 4 lights are lit (this is the highest trim level for level one).

Sounds to me like a new room air fan is in order.... Things do wear out after all... Even you.