1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)
  1. WASPKFD

    WASPKFD New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Loc:
    Iowa
    photo 1.JPG photo 2.JPG
    Here we are SATURDAY!!!! possible install day,,, got the stack off for the new gasket and noticed the damper looks like it don't seal completely is this correct or do I need to add on
    e in the stove pipe??? Thanx again!
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 9, 2013

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. bsruther

    bsruther Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    690
    Loc:
    Northern Kentucky
    Mine's the same way, but I never use the damper. If I need to shut the stove down, I shut down the air. If you need the damper to shut it down, I think it will work the way it is, in combination with shutting down the air.

    Be sure to put a gasket between the doors. I think mine is attached to the right door. If you don't have a fan speed control switch, that stove will run you out of the room.
    When my stove's fan is running, I can feel a slight hot breeze coming out of the vent, can barely hear it even, and even at that level, it heats my house fairly well (1000 sq ft).
    But then, we don't like the bedroom to be over 70 degrees at night.

    If I run my blower on high, even on the coldest days we have to open windows and still can't sit in the stove room.
  3. WASPKFD

    WASPKFD New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Loc:
    Iowa
    hey thanx didn't know about the one between the doors...So I do not need a damper on the blackstove pipe also? can ya post a photo of yours? THANX!!!
  4. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    47,048
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Maybe the damper is designed to leak a little past it?
  5. WASPKFD

    WASPKFD New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Loc:
    Iowa
    photo 3.JPG I still have some work to do around the hearth.. getting closer
    the tiles kick ass in the front looks like it had burned thru..lo...my first one forgive me
  6. gzecc

    gzecc Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3,793
    Loc:
    NNJ
  7. bsruther

    bsruther Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    690
    Loc:
    Northern Kentucky
    I don't know if a gasket is required between the doors, I just put one there, because it was obvious that it was letting air in. You don't want to see a picture of mine right now. It's sitting on moving dollies with tools and crap on it. I'm in the middle of a stove room rebuild. I think mine might be a 2600, but still very similar.

    Yours is looking good, fire it up and open the windows.
  8. WASPKFD

    WASPKFD New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Loc:
    Iowa
    fire it up and open the windows.
    HAHAHAHA ya cant wait..... hopefully this week,, I cut the hole in the ceiling got all the pipe ready to go.... suppose to get down to 12 this week then warm back up.....

Share This Page