Building hearth for first stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

ro560

Aug 22, 2022
Brooklyn, ct
I’m building my hearth in the corner and have the base all done, I was doing research for the walls and saw something about a 1 inch gap.
I had planned on doing stone tile on the walls behind the stove, would I still need a 1 inch gap between the stone tile and the wall or is that for certain types of installs. I had no idea about the 1 inch gap when planning it. These are my stoves clearances for reference

885B4720-7A02-4D91-BFD9-9E08C83E6C05.png

Last edited:
I’m not a pro, but can tell you that my hearth is not spaced from the wall. All clearances are met from walls and such and the area behind/diagonal to stove is consistently at room temp when i use my IR thermometer on it.

The air gap reduces clearance to combustibles. Do you need (or want to) reduce the standard clearance? Are you installing single or double wall insulated pipe?

Looks like a BK king so double wall insulated pipe should be used. I would install to me meet regular clearances and not used the air gap to reduce clearance if possible.

The air gap reduces clearance to combustibles. Do you need (or want to) reduce the standard clearance? Are you installing single or double wall insulated pipe?

Looks like a BK king so double wall insulated pipe should be used. I would install to me meet regular clearances and not used the air gap to reduce clearance if possible.
Ok thanks, I wasn’t trying to reduce anything I was just worried the air gap was something that was necessary.

Reactions: EbS-P