Bulk ventilated firewood bags? Good or bad?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Eric Minnis

Dec 25, 2020
NC
Looking to hear of how the 1/3 cord ventilated bulk firewood bags are doing with regard to seasoning times. I burn mainly red oak that I get after storms on my farm. A few weeks ago a big poplar took out 2 beautiful red oaks (40" diameter) so I am in good supply for a while.

I'm new to a wood stove and trying to get zeroed in on how I will store my firewood. Because I mainly have red oak- I do not want to slow the time it takes to season as I hear it can be lengthy. I currently stack in double rows, top covered on a hilltop with good sunlight and wind off the ground. I have access to pallets and would like to try these bulk bags if they do not hinder the seasoning process. The idea of grabbing a bag with the tractor and filling it as it comes of the splitter certainly sounds efficient.

Appreciate input from those that have experience with the vented bulk bags.

Reactions: hickoryhoarder
I have seen them on two youtube channels I follow, may want to check them out. Eastonmade wood splitter channel and Back 40 firewood channel both experimented with them.

I always wanted to try these since I can get plenty of pallets locally to put the bags on. Easy enough to move 1/3 cord of dry firewood with the tractor in one of those bags. Trouble I had was trying to find an affordable source for the bags.

I purchased 10 of them from Shaver Equipment in PA. Figured I would give them a shot and try 3 methods:

1) Traditional stack with just the top covered and off the ground
2) Bulk ventilated bags