"Bunker" around garage wood furnace

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

New_b

Dec 28, 2015
Apollo pa
I am new to burning wood and to the forum. I searched but couldn't find what I was looking for.
So last year I put a wood burner in my attached garage. I called my agent to tell him that I did it so I would be covered of something would happen. He says that's a big no no. After doing a little reading found out that it indeed is a no no. Wish I would have did the reading first, as I debated putting it in the basement.
So my question isn't if I can put a furnace or a wood burner in there. It's if I would build a air tight cement block "bunker" around it, would a furnace overheat because it can't radiate the heat properly? I would build a 1/4 plate air tight door and lid. It would have a fresh air intake directly form outside. The cold air return and hot air would get blown in the basement or the garage if I am out there. Would it work with just a wood burner? My 100 cl burner needs to be replaced so I am in the market to buy something if I get the ok. But leaning towards the furnace. Thanks for any input

It's against the fire code to be in your attached garage. Period. If you want to create a separate room in your garage with a separate entrance to the outside or to the living space AND the walls of said room are per code for fire separation as a garage wall then you can do it.

It's about fumes supposedly which is stupid because you can have a gas furnace with exposed flames in that same garage.