Burn Pot Pile Up?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BillM2

Dec 23, 2010
Mid-Hudson Valley
I'm new to pellet stoves and am wondering if, in the burn pot, should I be seeing mostly ash only or a build up of slag-like material? Sometimes it seems like there's a lot of non ash visible and it happens after around 14 hours of operation? My settings are 4-3-1 and the top are either 3 or 4 with one above for the blower.

What type of pellets are you using?

I'm using a Englander 25 PDVC and Hamer's Hot Ones (all oak). Exterior, thru the wall, 3" inch with one tee and one elbow to the vent rising 8' or so. Also have OAK installed.

I am burning Hamers in my Quad AE this year and am also having problems with huge clinker formations in the burn pot. Try a different pellet and see if it changes, I believe from what I am hearing on here about htis problem, hamer had a bad batch of pellets this year.

Clinkers are a PITA, if you have full control of both your feed rate and air. You can deal with this if not you have to just clean out the clinkers periodically.

That stove has a bit of adjustment available.

More air will eject more of the ash.

Less fuel will create less ash.

The goal is to have enough air to eject almost all of the created ash.

Yes this fouls up the usual burn pattern for your stove.

or

Burn a pellet that produces less ash or lighter ash.

BillM2 said:
I'm using a Englander 25 PDVC and Hamer's Hot Ones (all oak). Exterior, thru the wall, 3" inch with one tee and one elbow to the vent rising 8' or so. Also have OAK installed.