Burned out on burning wood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Lanningjw

Minister of Fire
Oct 15, 2008
Plymouth, Minnesota
I'm new to wood burning and thus far I love it, but I've already decided that I will not have it be something that will put pressure on me. I want to do it because I enjoy it AND that it could save me money. In the end, I'd like to be off of the grid somewhat more, but not at the expense of being miserable. I see no problems with taking a little break.

nope, dont have the choice. not because i dont have one, but more of a financial issue with paying for oil. the furnace is on but set to about 60. probably kicks on 2-3 times during the day when im at work and the stoves out. (cant let the dogs freeze)

i do understand what your saying. bringing the wood in isnt as bad however as cutting the tree down, bucking haulsing splitting and stacking. thats when i feel its too much work. but then again its hot outside and the furance doesnt run then either.

splitting the stove duties with another person helps.

Blaze King owners are not allowed to take breaks, loading once a month is to much???? LOL ;-)

I take some breaks from time to time. I don't see any harm it, sometimes it's nice to just veg out for an evening and not think about burning wood. It's nice to have that option, some here don't.

Humping in a load of wood doesn't seem like that big a deal to me, especially when I consider that my only alternative is to freeze to death. :eek:hh: