Burning a mixed load of wood?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Wallace

Oct 8, 2011
Prescott, AZ
Since I am fairly new to the wood burning world, I have a question. I have a half cord of seasoned oak and over half cord of seasoned shaggy bark and alligator juniper (cedar). I like the length of the burns the oak gives and the heat that the juniper puts out. So in my infinite wisdom I have been mixing oak and juniper. Two bigger splits of oak on the bottom and 3 splits of juniper on top oriented N/S. My question is that it seems to me that I am getting the best of the two woods? Especially in the morning at 5am it appears that the E/W oak splits are still giving off heat, while the juniper is gone to ashes. Am I just imagining this? Or is anyone else doing this too?

I just have birch now, but earlier this heating season I had a mix of cottonwood, spruce and birch. Boy am I glad to be done with that. I tried to only put a couple pieces of the junk wood in teh stove cause it wouldn't last very long.

Sounds like a good mix. Burn times getting you thru the night is good.
As you need more heat at night, maybe more oak.
I mix in some spruce for the day shorter burns or when it's warm enough to burn all day with just spruce.
So Yea, mixing to get the performance you need is a good idea.

Kinda like being a cook, eh?!

-Soupy1957

Wallace said: