Burning Cedar

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Samoyed

Aug 24, 2010
Ontario, Canada
Hello all,

Long time reader, first time caller .... Great Forum!

I am a complete newbie at using a woodstove. We bought a property and got an Oslo installed because the old stove was damaged. Anyway, the previous owner left about 1.5 cord of cedar (very old and bone dry) on the property. Due to space limitations, I want to burn this cedar this winter to make space for new wood. After reading many old posts about cedar, I am now a bit scared about burning it because it appears that it burns too hot and very quickly. I have way to much cedar to just make kindling out of it and not enough space to store it. So the question is:
How can I burn the cedar "safely" while making sure that by the end of the burning season, it is mostly gone?
- should I mix it with hardwood (I have birch, oak and maple)?
- should I use it only to make "small fires" with only a few small pieces during the shoulder seasons?
- ???

Please keep in mind, I am a complete newbie at this and I want to make sure that my lack of experience does not get me into too much trouble ....

Thank you.

I've burned many cords of dry western red cedar. Realize that there is more than one type of cedar and this will affect the answers given.