Burning olive pit in pellet boiler

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

DOOM_NX

Jul 23, 2013
Greece
Hello, gentlemen! It's my first time writing, but I've been reading this forum for a long time and I have to admit that... this site rocks!

A friend of mine just had an idea. Instead of burning wood pellets in his wood pellet burner, he is considering uncrushed olive pits (yes, oil NOT removed). Well, they may have a higher heating value, but all this oil can't be good for the boiler, can it?

Can anybody shed some light into this matter?

Thank you very much in advance.

:)
Hi Doom,
Just noticed your post from last year.
We are using crushed olive pits all the time.
The issue with whole olive pits is the moisture. THere is no issue with oil.
If you can get them dry enough and the boiler can handle the slightly higher ash levels then you should be fine.
THere are plenty of pit boilers in Greece as far as I know.

yes.olive pits have been a fuel in Greek stoves for a long time. As mentioned, dry is key. Keeping a vat full by the stove does the trick. Now quantity of pits....and boiler use?....maybe if one owns a dinner or two..._g

Yep we always have a days supply sitting beside the stove to dry for the day.
1,000s of tons of the stuff available from oil mills so no need to eat all the olives yourself.

that was the joke about the diner.o_O.but we grew up by an olive grove, so we ate plenty....grandpa always collected the pits from the whole family and burned them along with the dead branches and frees

Last edited: