Burning pine questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Hatrackr

Sep 21, 2014
SE wisconsin
So I'm new to wood burning and I've always been told burning pine is a big no no because of the sap causing creosote. After reading several post I see a lot of people burn pine is this possible because of the way new stoves burn or was everyone wrong in telling me not to burn pine? Does it require extra dry time to get the sap out or less cause it's soft wood. There is better than a cord of ponderosa pine sitting at the yard waste site where I've been scrounging my wood all cut to length just needing to be split. I have a new enviro kodiak 1700 insert is it safe to burn the pine and is it going to be really short burn times with the pine? Any input would help!

It is fine to burn. And needs to be split and stacked to dry for at least a year. The mistake that has always been made is burning pine before it was ready and still contains too much moisture but will burn because of the resin it contains.

How are the burn times? Would it be best to burn on the weekends when I can tend the fire more? I burned a bunch last year in an outdoor wood stove and I chewed through a cord really fast

Yeah it doesn't give a the burn times of hardwoods. But fully a third of wood burners in the country, on the West side, heat their homes with pine. And have for centuries.

Reactions: Jeffm1 and Dix
I a a pine fan. I admit it.

I love it for shoulder season, helping coax a fire going, and giving you that extra boost when you have less than primo fire wood to burn.